The 2007 ASI National OH&S Excellence Awards were presented to the winners during the ASI Steel Convention Gala Dinner on 29 October at Doltone House on Sydney Harbour.

They were Jason Lashmar from BlueScope Lysaght in Archerfield Queensland (Individual Award); BlueScope Steel Port Kembla Steelworks in NSW (Site Award); and OneSteel Manufacturing Steel Melt Shop in Laverton Victoria (Improvement Initiative Award: for its Hydraulically Operated Shroud Manipulator). This year sponsored by Sparke Helmore solicitors and co-presented by the firm’s principal, Paul Cutrone and immediate past Chair of the ASI National Safety Committee, Mick Cassar, this year’s program attracted a record number of entries, 47 in all were submitted. Three hundred people, including 30 international visitors, attended the presentation dinner event. The national awards program recognises steel industry companies and individuals for high achievements in safety.


Name: Val Mackintosh
Phone: +61 3 9694 4499