The winners and highly commended entries in the Steel Awards 2007 for Western Australia were announced on 31 August in five main categories.

The awards evening at the Burswood Resort attracted over 200, including visitors from the South African steel industry, the highest attendance for the WA awards program so far. Hames Sharley topped the Architectural Steel Design stakes for the University of WA Biomedical Research Facility; Francis Pritchard won in the Engineering Steel Design category; Taylor Robinson Architects scored the Metal Building Product Design Award for their work on Scotch College Dickinson Centre; AGC Ausclad Group won the Steel Fabrication Award for the Dampier Port Upgrade Parker Point Twin Cell Car Dumper project; and PDC Consultants held the honours in the Steel Designers category for work on BHP Billiton’s Rapid Growth Area C Iron Ore project. The sponsors for the evening were the AGC Ausclad Group, OneSteel Steel & Tube/OneSteel Market Mills, Orrcon, Pacific Computing and Smorgon Steel. The Judging Panel comprised chair, Peter Bruechle (ex-BG&E) representing engineering, Tony Brand (Anthony Brand Consultant Architects) and David Dartnall (ex-Fabricon Steel fabricators). A new category was added this year to acknowledge up and comers with awards bestowed on all who applied from engineering students to apprentices.


Name: John Bazier
Phone: +61 8 9355 1544